Senate Executive Committee Meeting (4/7/2022)

<u>Attendees</u>: Dinesh Pinisetty (Chair), Bets McNie (Vice Chair), Matthew Fairbanks (Secretary), Christine Isakson, Leah Wyzykowski (Student Rep), Frank Yip, Wil Tsai, Keir Moorhead, and Provost Lori Schroeder*.

* Had to depart for another meeting just before the Open Floor section below.

Minutes

• *3/24 minutes approved by unanimous consent.* Tsai motioned for approval, McNie seconded. There were small amendments to the record proposed and accepted.

CommUNITY Day Reflections

0

 Pinisetty also updated the group on the Senate RTP Committee membership. Holden, Malaquias, and Kamdar were the AY 21-22 committee. Malaquias needs to be replaced because he's GSMA Chair and will have faculty under review. Pinisetty reached out to eligible faculty for that open position. Taiyo Inoue has agreed to serve. So, the current line-up is Nipoli Kamdar, Mike Holden, and Taiyo Inoue for next year.

0

- Tsai: I think it's less of accusing one another of being wrong or not understanding...it just seems like we're talking past one another. I really don't know what their perspective is on these things. I'm reluctant to suggest another task force, but it feels like there needs to be conversation, maybe over the summer, so we can really understand each other's position.
- Pinisetty yes, but we also don't want to waste faculty time if their feedback isn't going to be used.
- Yip expanded on this point. Noting that efforts for consultation are often made, but too often data and feedback just get ignored. Perhaps we should have a meeting with Provost Schroeder and Kathleen McMahon about the many, many times this sort of thing has occurred.